Liquitex® Black Gesso

$22.99

Product Actions

Add to cart options

Liquitex® Black Gesso

Item # 10012360 
$22.99

Promotions


Buy 2 Get 1 Free - Add 3 items to qualify See Details
Buy two items at regular price & get the third of equal or lesser value free. Excludes clearance.

Liquitex® Black Gesso

$22.99

Promotions


Buy 2 Get 1 Free - Add 3 items to qualify See Details
Buy two items at regular price & get the third of equal or lesser value free. Excludes clearance.

Details

Product Actions

Add to cart options

Description


To set the foundation for stable and permanent color application, all painters know you need to start with a quality gesso. An excellent base coat primer for many applications, this gesso provides the perfect tooth and adhesion to a wide variety of surfaces, including canvas, paper and wood. This premium gesso is ideal for prepping your painting surfaces with an opaque, black base, whether you work in acrylics or oils and one coat is all you need!
 
Details:
  • Black
  • 8 fl. oz. (237 mL) bottle
  • Flexible
  • Non-cracking and non yellowing
  • Use with acrylic and oil paints

 
To set the foundation for stable and permanent color application, all painters know you need to start with a quality gesso. An excellent base coat primer for many applications, this gesso provides the perfect tooth and adhesion to a wide variety of surfaces, including canvas, paper and wood. This premium gesso is ideal for prepping your painting surfaces with an opaque, black base, whether you work in acrylics or oils and one coat is all you need!
 
Details:
  • Black
  • 8 fl. oz. (237 mL) bottle
  • Flexible
  • Non-cracking and non yellowing
  • Use with acrylic and oil paints

 
jump
To set the foundation for stable and permanent color application, all painters know you need to start with a quality gesso. An excellent base coat primer for many applications, this gesso provides the perfect tooth and adhesion to a wide variety of surfaces, including canvas, paper and wood. This premium gesso is ideal for prepping your painting surfaces with an opaque, black base, whether you work in acrylics or oils and one coat is all you need!
 
Details:
  • Black
  • 8 fl. oz. (237 mL) bottle
  • Flexible
  • Non-cracking and non yellowing
  • Use with acrylic and oil paints

 
To set the foundation for stable and permanent color application, all painters know you need to start with a quality gesso. An excellent base coat primer for many applications, this gesso provides the perfect tooth and adhesion to a wide variety of surfaces, including canvas, paper and wood. This premium gesso is ideal for prepping your painting surfaces with an opaque, black base, whether you work in acrylics or oils and one coat is all you need!
 
Details:
  • Black
  • 8 fl. oz. (237 mL) bottle
  • Flexible
  • Non-cracking and non yellowing
  • Use with acrylic and oil paints

 
Shipping & Returns
jump

Shipping & Returns

Shipping

Most products may be shipped via standard ground (delivered in 3-5 business days) or Expedited (1 business day). Orders placed by 11:00 AM Central Time using the Expedited option will ship the same day. View Full Shipping Policy and Pricing ›

Returns

If your Michaels purchase does not meet your satisfaction, you may return it within two months (60 days) of purchase. To return an item, the item must be new, unused and in its original packaging. You may return the item to a Michaels store or by mail. Effective 11/27/2022 (or November 27, 2022) Clearance sales are considered final, sold AS IS and are not returnable for a refund or exchange. View Full Return Policy ›

From the Manufacturer

You May Also Like

jump Customer Reviews
Liquitex® Black Gesso is rated 4.8 out of 5 by 133.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Liquitex Professional gessos are the best Black gesso is a must in my art room. I also use it as black paint. That makes it a more versatile product. Oh, and it was on sale 👌
Date published: 2022-12-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best gesso Great coverage, easy to use for the professional or amateur artist. Priced so even the beginning painter can afford it.
Date published: 2022-12-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Liquitex Black Gesso My first time using Gesso, love it!
Date published: 2022-12-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Black Matte, Black Canvas Liquitex is the best Black Gesso, acrylic primer on the market. A great price for a great product. Making black canvases was never easier.
Date published: 2022-12-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Liquitex black gesso Perfect covering, easy to apply
Date published: 2022-11-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I like this black gesso Liquitex Black Gesso gives good coverage and goes on smooth. Makes it easy to paint a white canvas black. Also makes a great underpainting for oil paints.
Date published: 2022-11-27
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Black Gesso Black Gesso’s consistency is perfect for painting the edges of studio wrapped canvases. It covers with one brushstroke and a mat finish. Any stroke error can be wiped off with a wet sponge. I give this product a five star.
Date published: 2022-11-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect Works really well. When wet it can look streaky from the brush strokes but it dries solid a matt. Very smooth appearance
Date published: 2022-11-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love Black gesso worked great on my canvass and worked well with my paints
Date published: 2022-11-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Liquitex Black Gesso Have used Liquitex black and white gesso as an acrylic base coat for all my wood carvings for many years. Black gesso for some reason, has been hard to find so whenever I’m in Michael’s I check to see if it is available. Excellent product.
Date published: 2022-11-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great coverage Covers great in one coat.
Date published: 2022-11-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from exactly what I needed Just the right consistency. VERY black. :-)
Date published: 2022-11-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Thick and smooth to apply to canvas Nice and smooth to apply
Date published: 2022-10-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect for my projects Great for prepping your canvases
Date published: 2022-09-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Black gesso I love this gesso! Paint just glides over it
Date published: 2022-09-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Black Gesso My normal brand of black gesso has been discontinued. I tried this brand and was very pleased.
Date published: 2022-09-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Excellent smooth coverage
Date published: 2022-09-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great black gesso Like having this black gesso when i am painting black backgrounds. Helps add to the richness of the black and is a great primer for the canvas.
Date published: 2022-08-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My preferred The only gesso I’ll use
Date published: 2022-08-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from 16 x 16 Owl This is a must in order to prep your canvas for painting dot mandalas. I usually do 3 layers, with sanding in-between each layer. This makes sure your dots remain round, or...as you place them on the canvas.
Date published: 2022-01-24
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Liqitex Gesso black I am a new painter and just learning to use it in my painting and so far it works well.
Date published: 2022-01-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from New to Gesso Black I need to cover my canvas Black and this Gesso did the job. I am new at using this product. But love what I have used it foe so far.
Date published: 2021-09-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fred Astaire & Ginger Rogers- Last Tango in Paris Used Gesso Black on half of my art work to contrast the piece. Worked great in bring out acrylic paint and colored pencil.
Date published: 2021-08-20
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good light coverage If you are looking for a lightweight gesso, this is a good product. I was hoping for something a little more substantial which is why I only gave it 4 stars.
Date published: 2021-05-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good product. Good quality and well worth the price.
Date published: 2021-05-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from No regrets. Great coverage. Got it with a coupon
Date published: 2021-03-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it I love using this Gesso, it covers the canvas perfect. I definitely recommend it for Artist.
Date published: 2021-03-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Black gesso worth it! Great gesso! Smoothe workable matte finish. Worth more than acrylic!
Date published: 2021-03-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great blackening black gesso ! Covers well .... great for making black canvasses !
Date published: 2021-03-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Smooth and jet black Very easy to spread and very good coverage. Intense black.
Date published: 2021-02-27
  • y_2024, m_5, d_24, h_6
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.42
  • cp_3, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_65, tr_68
  • loc_en_CA, sid_10012360, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_michaels