Golden® Gesso

$22.99

Product Actions

Add to cart options
  • -
  • +

Golden® Gesso

Item # MMACGDGESSO 
$22.99

Promotions


Buy 1 Get 1 50% Off - Add 2 items to qualify See Details
Buy one item at regular price & get the second of equal or lesser value 50% off Excludes Clearance

Golden® Gesso

$22.99

Promotions


Buy 1 Get 1 50% Off - Add 2 items to qualify See Details
Buy one item at regular price & get the second of equal or lesser value 50% off Excludes Clearance

Details

Variations

Product Actions

Add to cart options
  • -
  • +
Ground Ship Only: Item may not be shipped 2nd Day or Next Day.

Description


Gesso can be thought of as the bridge between whatever you paint on and the paint. This flexible white gesso is ready-to-use. Apply in thin layers to conform to a variety of textured surfaces without cracking. Apply at least three layers of gesso for oil painting over acrylic gesso.

Details:
  • Semi-opaque
  • Available in multiple sizes
  • Highly pigmented for greater opacity
Gesso can be thought of as the bridge between whatever you paint on and the paint. This flexible white gesso is ready-to-use. Apply in thin layers to conform to a variety of textured surfaces without cracking. Apply at least three layers of gesso for oil painting over acrylic gesso.

Details:
  • Semi-opaque
  • Available in multiple sizes
  • Highly pigmented for greater opacity
jump
Gesso can be thought of as the bridge between whatever you paint on and the paint. This flexible white gesso is ready-to-use. Apply in thin layers to conform to a variety of textured surfaces without cracking. Apply at least three layers of gesso for oil painting over acrylic gesso.

Details:
  • Semi-opaque
  • Available in multiple sizes
  • Highly pigmented for greater opacity
Gesso can be thought of as the bridge between whatever you paint on and the paint. This flexible white gesso is ready-to-use. Apply in thin layers to conform to a variety of textured surfaces without cracking. Apply at least three layers of gesso for oil painting over acrylic gesso.

Details:
  • Semi-opaque
  • Available in multiple sizes
  • Highly pigmented for greater opacity
Shipping & Returns
jump

Shipping & Returns

Shipping

Most products may be shipped via standard ground (delivered in 3-5 business days) or Expedited (1 business day). Orders placed by 11:00 AM Central Time using the Expedited option will ship the same day. View Full Shipping Policy and Pricing ›

Returns

If your Michaels purchase does not meet your satisfaction, you may return it within two months (60 days) of purchase. To return an item, the item must be new, unused and in its original packaging. You may return the item to a Michaels store or by mail. Effective 11/27/2022 (or November 27, 2022) Clearance sales are considered final, sold AS IS and are not returnable for a refund or exchange. View Full Return Policy ›

From the Manufacturer

You May Also Like

jump Customer Reviews
Golden® Gesso is rated 4.8 out of 5 by 93.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Not sure which gesso to get? Golden gesso is the perfect mixture to prepare canvases for oil. It is not too thick and not too watery. Great quality for the price. It is my go to gesso.
Date published: 2023-10-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good Used this to cover a previously used canvas so I could re-use it. Worked perfectly.
Date published: 2023-09-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Gesso worked great Covered my used canvas really well.
Date published: 2023-07-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Artists Loft Acrylic paint Good quality, fair price. I have rescued a lot of paintings and canvases with this!
Date published: 2023-07-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very Smooth to Apply Very smooth and easy to paint onto a canvas
Date published: 2023-06-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great gesso Professional quality gesso
Date published: 2023-05-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Golden Gesso is the best. This is the best gesso that I’ve ever used. It has a thick, creamy texture that fills in all the little holes on a canvas. I like to add acrylic paint to it and cover the whole canvas with an undercolor.
Date published: 2023-05-03
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Arrived by mail leaking (I had it shipped) Arrived by mail leaking (I had it shipped). I always buy this product. Golden gesso is fabulous!! Cent review this actual jar in detail as it came drilling and leaking everywhere. Highly recommend though if tight seal in her.
Date published: 2023-04-19
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Gesso I liked this as a primer on some of my projects.
Date published: 2023-04-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy to apply with good coverage It goes on smoothly and easily and achieves good coverage with a single coat. We used this as a primer on a wooden lion head finial for a newel post, with lots left for future projects.
Date published: 2023-03-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Gesso I love this gesso. It’s thick enough for me to give some real texture to my stretched canvas before I start painting.
Date published: 2023-03-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product I’m not accustomed to using acrylic products but needed this for a workshop. It was great! Loved the consistency.
Date published: 2023-03-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Golden brand Best products at great prices
Date published: 2023-01-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Starting Point Excellent coverage of canvas for creating a surface for Acrylic Paint.
Date published: 2023-01-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Golden Gesso Golden is an excellent product, well worth the price.
Date published: 2023-01-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best gesso ever This is the best gesso ever. White, creamy and easy to brush on.
Date published: 2022-12-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good stuff Quality is great. Very easy to apply. Perfect size for someone who crafts smaller items.
Date published: 2022-12-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Gesso primer This product worked great as a primer on our oyster shells that we were going to paint with Santa faces.
Date published: 2022-11-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Creamiest, smoothest, best gesso you can buy :) Golden makes the creamiest, smoothest gesso on the market. It's my go-to for professional pieces. When I play (or practice a new technique), I use other brands. But for serious paintings? Golden, Golden, Golden.
Date published: 2022-10-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good sealant Gives a nice satin finish to wood. Easy to apply. Easy clean up
Date published: 2022-09-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good product This is my go to gesso. Good quality and price is decent.
Date published: 2022-08-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Quality gesso for priming painting surfaces Classic, go-to quality gesso for priming painting surfaces. I use this gesso to prime canvas and artboard/wood for acrylic painting. I like Golden's quality products and their gesso is no exception.
Date published: 2022-07-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great primer Used to prime my canvas. Works great!
Date published: 2022-03-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love the Golden Great amount of Gesso at a great price
Date published: 2022-02-28
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Wonderful Product. High quality product just expensive. Would recommend to professional artists or non-beginners.
Date published: 2022-01-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Golden gesso Golden acrylics are stellar. Desi is smooth and works well with two coats generally speaking.
Date published: 2021-09-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Do yourself a favor, try it! Really good gesso. Good coverage, not too thick not too thin and opaque.
Date published: 2021-09-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good I got this very resonable price!
Date published: 2021-08-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Mesh ribbon Mesh ribbon has so many uses and it's beautiful. Good quality and easy to work with. I made a beautiful spring wreath that everyone loves.I bought everything I need to make another as a gift.
Date published: 2021-04-16
  • y_2024, m_6, d_12, h_8
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.42
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_56, tr_37
  • loc_en_CA, sid_MMACGDGESSO, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_michaels