Wilton® All-Occasion Checkerboard Cake Pan Set™

$26.99

Product Actions

Add to cart options

Wilton® All-Occasion Checkerboard Cake Pan Set™

Item # 10392568 
$26.99

Promotions


Save 30% off One Regular Price Item with code 30012921. Excludes Everyday Value program. See Details
Limit one coupon per product. Limit one coupon of each type per day. Limited to stock on hand. Void where prohibited. EXCLUSIONS: Everyday Value program, clearance; doorbusters and buy & get items; custom framing; beverages & candy; books & magazines; gift cards; OttLite; sewing machines; craft technology & accessories; Cricut, Silhouette; Christmas trees. Exclusions subject to change. See Team Member for details. Valid in Canada only.

Wilton® All-Occasion Checkerboard Cake Pan Set™

$26.99

Promotions


Save 30% off One Regular Price Item with code 30012921. Excludes Everyday Value program. See Details
Limit one coupon per product. Limit one coupon of each type per day. Limited to stock on hand. Void where prohibited. EXCLUSIONS: Everyday Value program, clearance; doorbusters and buy & get items; custom framing; beverages & candy; books & magazines; gift cards; OttLite; sewing machines; craft technology & accessories; Cricut, Silhouette; Christmas trees. Exclusions subject to change. See Team Member for details. Valid in Canada only.

Details

Product Actions

Add to cart options

Description


Checkmate! Easily create cakes with an exciting multicolored pattern—perfect for holidays and special events. Simply place the dividing ring in one of the three pans, then follow the easy instructions for adding both dark and light batter colors. In the next pan, fill in the opposite pattern to create a contrasting center layer, then repeat the process once more. After you have baked and stacked your delicious layers, you will reveal a striking checkerboard design that’s sure to "wow" your guests.
 
Details:
  • 9" x 1.5"
  • Oversized handles for safe lifting
  • Each pan takes 5.5 cups of batter
  • Nonstick steel pans
Contents:
  • 3 pans
  • Batter dividing ring
  • Complete baking instructions 
Checkmate! Easily create cakes with an exciting multicolored pattern—perfect for holidays and special events. Simply place the dividing ring in one of the three pans, then follow the easy instructions for adding both dark and light batter colors. In the next pan, fill in the opposite pattern to create a contrasting center layer, then repeat the process once more. After you have baked and stacked your delicious layers, you will reveal a striking checkerboard design that’s sure to "wow" your guests.
 
Details:
  • 9" x 1.5"
  • Oversized handles for safe lifting
  • Each pan takes 5.5 cups of batter
  • Nonstick steel pans
Contents:
  • 3 pans
  • Batter dividing ring
  • Complete baking instructions 
jump
Checkmate! Easily create cakes with an exciting multicolored pattern—perfect for holidays and special events. Simply place the dividing ring in one of the three pans, then follow the easy instructions for adding both dark and light batter colors. In the next pan, fill in the opposite pattern to create a contrasting center layer, then repeat the process once more. After you have baked and stacked your delicious layers, you will reveal a striking checkerboard design that’s sure to "wow" your guests.
 
Details:
  • 9" x 1.5"
  • Oversized handles for safe lifting
  • Each pan takes 5.5 cups of batter
  • Nonstick steel pans
Contents:
  • 3 pans
  • Batter dividing ring
  • Complete baking instructions 
Checkmate! Easily create cakes with an exciting multicolored pattern—perfect for holidays and special events. Simply place the dividing ring in one of the three pans, then follow the easy instructions for adding both dark and light batter colors. In the next pan, fill in the opposite pattern to create a contrasting center layer, then repeat the process once more. After you have baked and stacked your delicious layers, you will reveal a striking checkerboard design that’s sure to "wow" your guests.
 
Details:
  • 9" x 1.5"
  • Oversized handles for safe lifting
  • Each pan takes 5.5 cups of batter
  • Nonstick steel pans
Contents:
  • 3 pans
  • Batter dividing ring
  • Complete baking instructions 
Shipping & Returns
jump

Shipping & Returns

Shipping

Most products may be shipped via standard ground (delivered in 3-5 business days) or Expedited (1 business day). Orders placed by 11:00 AM Central Time using the Expedited option will ship the same day. View Full Shipping Policy and Pricing ›

Returns

If your Michaels purchase does not meet your satisfaction, you may return it within two months (60 days) of purchase. To return an item, the item must be new, unused and in its original packaging. You may return the item to a Michaels store or by mail. View Full Return Policy ›

From the Manufacturer

You May Also Like

jump Customer Reviews
Wilton® All-Occasion Checkerboard Cake Pan Set™ is rated 3.9 out of 5 by 108.
Rated 2 out of 5 by from did not work This product looked exciting, but when my daughter tried to make the cake the insert did not work to keep the different colored batters separate. The chocolate sunk to the bottom and the vanilla stayed on top. The cake was delicious even without the ckeckerboard look. We will have to try again.
Date published: 2017-10-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from So simple checkerboard cake! Can't remember if my kit is Wilton but I've had it a long time. I have never had a problem with batter leaking. Granted you do have to hold it down with a little pressure and you do lose a little bit of batter. Also if you use Chocolate and white or colors, they may rise more than the other one. Just level them. This is a great project! Ask all of the people who have enjoyed my cakes. Birthdays???? Oh yes!!
Date published: 2017-09-04
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Checkerboard pan I have used it once. Instructions day 2 to ist only one box of cake mix. I would suggest two. I think with practice it will work well.
Date published: 2017-06-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wonderful Love it will be back trying other new cooking things.
Date published: 2017-04-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wilton checkerboard This product was so easy to use and love the outcome.
Date published: 2017-04-03
Rated 1 out of 5 by from DON'T WASTE YOUR MONEY!! I've been doing cakes since I was 17 yrs old...so I've been doing this a long time. I bought this cake pan a couple months ago to do a lumberjack pattern cake. I usually love Wilton products but they missed the boat on this one! The cake leaked out from under the plastic separator and separator would not stay in place. The checkerboard cake looked terrible! I definitely DO NOT recommend this product!
Date published: 2017-02-22
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Not happy! I purchased this pan set and made a cake for my grandson's birthday. The pan insert does not go to the bottom of the pan, so the cake batter leaked underneath it and the cake was a MESS!
Date published: 2017-02-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Pretty Surprise Recently acquired this pan set. Easy instructions. Be sure to use a major brand cake mix as some of the lessor known are to light and you will have a three story cake that tends to fall apart when cut.
Date published: 2017-02-12
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Wilton checker cake pan Bought didn't wrk well . I will use plastic to cut after cakes r baked then move peices around.
Date published: 2017-02-02
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Try this to prevent batter from bleeding through! I got to this pan and was looking at reviews. It seems bleeding is an common occurrence and I thought maybe it would work if you baked the three layers without using the divider and use the divider to cut out the layers to mix-and-match them to get the checkerboard effect. Hopefully that works better!
Date published: 2017-01-08
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Disappointed I had another set not made by Wilton and used it without problems for years. Figured this would be the same. Rings don't fit right no matter how hard you snap them down. Colors all bled together. Sent Wilton a letter and never got a reply. So disappointed in the pans and the company.
Date published: 2017-01-06
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very good Bought this last week nice effect but would be easier if you had 3 dividers to make sure all were level quantities. Can you buy them separately?
Date published: 2016-12-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Everyone loves my checkerboard cake! I bought this cake pan set years ago..... I can't remember how many cakes I've made but it's at least 5 per year for our family birthdays and everyone looks forward to them. I use Duncan Hines or Betty Crocker chocolate and vanilla cake mixes. Making a stunning (yet not perfect) birthday cake couldn't be easier. The reviewer who made plain cakes and used the rings to cut out the checkerboard pieces is missing the point. You do need to snap the rings down in the pans. When you put the ring in the pan, 2 prongs will be over the edge and then you have to snap down the 3rd one. Experiment with how many large spoons of batter you need to add to which round of rings. I always get a crested cake (not perfectly flat but higher in the middle), probably due to my oven. But when I put the cake together, I put some extra chocolate frosting near the outer edges and everything is fine!
Date published: 2016-11-06
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Disappointing If anyone has any ideas to stop the colours bleeding under the ring I'd love to hear them. The colours from this company work beautifully but this apparatus didn't work at all. It needs an insert that will fit tightly while the tin is filled. Very disappointed.
Date published: 2016-08-22
Rated 4 out of 5 by from It's Not Like the Picture...but it works! I bought two sets...one for my apartment, and the other I keep at my Mom's. I don't use the cake recipe on the box. I use Duncan Hines Red Velvet Cake Mix and Duncan Hines French Vanilla Cake Mix. I follow the instructions on the box, but I always get someone to hold the dividers in place and pour the batter in very slow. I tell them to push down gently on the dividers, which helps to keep the batter from leaking into the other color. It is never perfect like the picture...but we love it anyway.
Date published: 2016-06-21
Rated 1 out of 5 by from waste of money I was so disappointed in this product. It does not work at all. I am a big fan of wilton products however, this one was a waste of money.
Date published: 2016-04-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I've wanted one for a long time. This cake pan has been on my "want" list for years. I'm thrilled I finally got it. My grandson has already picked the cake he wants for his birthday from the picture on the box.
Date published: 2016-03-27
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Checkerboard pan Sorry haven't used it yet. I would like though more detailed directions how to use it.
Date published: 2016-03-24
Rated 1 out of 5 by from this kit is over 30$ in c this kit is over 30$ in canada, that being said, what's the point of having 3 tapered pans? why would i want to stack 3 tapered pans? icing those cakes is a pain! i paid about 35$ to just use the checker board tool in my straight pans.... why don't you just sell the checkerboard?
Date published: 2015-04-27
Rated 3 out of 5 by from I've used this set twice I've used this set twice now with varying results. The first time I used it I colored the same batter into three different colors. Trying to guesstimate the amount to put into each ring was difficult and of course you can't fix it afterwards. The batter baked evenly, but the sections weren't even close to straight. The second time the batter was too thin and ran under the rings to the other sections. I'm determined to get this product to work as promised, and will try a much thicker batter next time. The cake still tasted great, and I'm sure with a bit of trying I'll end up with a cake that looks like the one on the box. I wouldn't use boxed cake mixes, though, because they might bake differently and it's difficult to adjust their thickness without affecting the taste.
Date published: 2014-05-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This worked great Bake 2 This worked great Bake 2 full layers of each of 2 flavors you want to make your checker board from (I used dark chocolate and orange). Remove the layers from the pan, cool and freeze. When frozen use the dividers to cut each layer into the appropriate pieces to "assemble" the checker board...outside and center pieces in chocolate on 2 layers, outside and center orange on one layer, filling in with the opposite flavor. the checker board is clean with no flavors bleeding into the other cake batter. Simply press the divider straight down into each layer. Because the cake is frozen it is not so fragile. Because you are using the dividers they fit perfectly. I was thinking strawberry and pistachio next cake for spring....or maybe lemon and orange! I made this for Mothers Day with Swiss buttercream. You will love this pan.
Date published: 2014-05-13
Rated 2 out of 5 by from The separator rings are m The separator rings are made from light-weight plastic and are very light. When I tried to pour the batter into the rings, the separator would rise up and then the batter would spread to other rings under the separator. The final result looked more like uneven marbling rather than rings. If you use this pan, you might try weighing the separator down with a plate or coffee mug to keep it from floating up on the batter. I have used pans with metal separators and have not had this problem with them.
Date published: 2013-10-12
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I love this pan set, the I love this pan set, the cake came out really nice. It was little challenging pouring the mix in the first pan, but it got easier. There is one thing, though, that it would make it even better, the ring is not heavy and it doesn't really touches the bottom of the pan, so the mix leaks a little from underneath the plastic piece, I started pouring the outer ring first and it's when I noticed. On the second pan, I started on the center ring first putting pressure (hold it down) on the plastics divider, as well as the other two rings. It gets a little difficult when filling up the outer ring, but I used something heavy and placed it in the center on top of the middle ring. This worked beautifully form me, thought I should . I used box cake mixed as it was the first time using the pans, and I used chocolate and vanilla cake mixes (Betty Crocker). I was a little concerned about how the two would react, so I altered the chocolate recipe and didn't use the extra 1/4 cup of liquid the recipe calls for, so it would leave it a little thicker. I also don't use oil or water, I use unsalted butter and milk (2% or fat free). I hope this helps someone out there, the pan does work, just have to work with it and use some tricks. I loved my cake! Thank you!
Date published: 2013-09-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I love this set my twins I love this set my twins love when we cut into it to what colors I used they get so excited
Date published: 2013-08-08
Rated 4 out of 5 by from This pan great. It works This pan great. It works perfectly but you have to follow the directions closely so save them for the next one. I made the pastel version for Easter and it was pretty and fun to decorate.
Date published: 2013-07-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I have enjoyed making the I have enjoyed making the checkerboard cake. Friends are really surprised when they cut into the cake. Very easy to do.
Date published: 2013-07-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from these pans can be used ev these pans can be used even for making pizza nicely.
Date published: 2013-04-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this cake set. Make Love this cake set. Makes a very interesting and "surprising" cake. Everyone always asks "How did you do that. That is so cool." Thank you Wilton for a great product!
Date published: 2013-03-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love the versatility of t Love the versatility of the look of cakes with this. The sky is the limit as to what combination or theme you could use!
Date published: 2013-03-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This was awesome Used it This was awesome Used it for the 1st time Saturday and loved the way it turned out. It made it look like it was hard to do but was every easy. The family loved it.
Date published: 2013-03-10
  • y_2021, m_9, d_22, h_20
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.19
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_5, tr_103
  • loc_en_CA, sid_10392568, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_michaels