Plaster Molding Kit by ArtMinds™

$16.99

Product Actions

Add to cart options

Plaster Molding Kit by ArtMinds™

Item # 10196062 
$16.99

Plaster Molding Kit by ArtMinds™

$16.99

Details

Product Actions

Add to cart options
WARNING: CHOKING HAZARD Small parts. Not for children under 3 years.

Description


This kit creates a one-of-a-kind keepsake of your child's hand and makes a great gift for family members. The 3D gel replicates every unique detail of your child's hand as the plaster dries to a marble-like finish.
 
Details:
  • 7 piece kit
  • Includes tips and easy to follow instructions
  • Conforms to ASTM D-4236
  • For ages 4 and up
Contents:
  • 1.5 oz. (42.5 g) 3D gel
  • 1.3 lb. (0.6 kg) premium plaster
  • 2 paint pots (0.14 fl. oz./4 mL each)
  • 1 paint brush
  • 1 heart-shaped molding tray
  • 1 wall mount
This kit creates a one-of-a-kind keepsake of your child's hand and makes a great gift for family members. The 3D gel replicates every unique detail of your child's hand as the plaster dries to a marble-like finish.
 
Details:
  • 7 piece kit
  • Includes tips and easy to follow instructions
  • Conforms to ASTM D-4236
  • For ages 4 and up
Contents:
  • 1.5 oz. (42.5 g) 3D gel
  • 1.3 lb. (0.6 kg) premium plaster
  • 2 paint pots (0.14 fl. oz./4 mL each)
  • 1 paint brush
  • 1 heart-shaped molding tray
  • 1 wall mount
jump
This kit creates a one-of-a-kind keepsake of your child's hand and makes a great gift for family members. The 3D gel replicates every unique detail of your child's hand as the plaster dries to a marble-like finish.
 
Details:
  • 7 piece kit
  • Includes tips and easy to follow instructions
  • Conforms to ASTM D-4236
  • For ages 4 and up
Contents:
  • 1.5 oz. (42.5 g) 3D gel
  • 1.3 lb. (0.6 kg) premium plaster
  • 2 paint pots (0.14 fl. oz./4 mL each)
  • 1 paint brush
  • 1 heart-shaped molding tray
  • 1 wall mount
This kit creates a one-of-a-kind keepsake of your child's hand and makes a great gift for family members. The 3D gel replicates every unique detail of your child's hand as the plaster dries to a marble-like finish.
 
Details:
  • 7 piece kit
  • Includes tips and easy to follow instructions
  • Conforms to ASTM D-4236
  • For ages 4 and up
Contents:
  • 1.5 oz. (42.5 g) 3D gel
  • 1.3 lb. (0.6 kg) premium plaster
  • 2 paint pots (0.14 fl. oz./4 mL each)
  • 1 paint brush
  • 1 heart-shaped molding tray
  • 1 wall mount
Shipping & Returns
jump

Shipping & Returns

Shipping

Most products may be shipped via standard ground (delivered in 3-7 business days) or Expedited (1 business day). Orders placed by 11:00 AM Central Time using the Expedited option will ship the same day. View Full Shipping Policy and Pricing ›

Returns

If your Michaels purchase does not meet your satisfaction, you may return it within six months (180 days) of purchase. To return an item, the item must be new, unused and in its original packaging. You may return the item to a Michaels store or by mail. View Full Return Policy ›

From the Manufacturer

You May Also Like

jump Customer Reviews
Plaster Molding Kit by ArtMinds™ is rated 2.7 out of 5 by 61.
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Very disappointed I don’t recommend this product it was horrible and it didn’t come with instructions.
Date published: 2020-06-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from We loves it! I have it four stars because the gel dried so fast I had to rush for my three year old to stick his hand in there which made it very difficult. It worked well. Clearly many people on here who gave it a one star simply don't know how to read the box. The instructions are on the BACK of the box. There is no insert. So if you can read a box and can get your child to cooperate you should have zero issues!
Date published: 2020-06-18
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Gel is tough to use Gel was tough to get smooth in the time alloted and then I poured into the mold it was so liquid it was difficult to judge depth of the hand left the hand and pulled up chunks came with nothing resembling a hand remained
Date published: 2020-06-15
Rated 1 out of 5 by from No instructions and none online Pretty useless as I just have a box full of ingredients and no instructions
Date published: 2020-06-14
Rated 1 out of 5 by from There were no instructions in either of the 2 boxs No instructions in either of the boxes I purchased no way to contact anyone about it
Date published: 2020-05-29
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Don't waste your money! Had a friend help me do this with my 3 1/2 year old granddaughter. What a joke. Her handprint never even came out! I'm completely disappointed and I bought two of them!
Date published: 2020-05-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This product was fun for the whole family Takes some time and need to follow directions exactly but this was a great project I had the kids do for their mother for Mother’s Day
Date published: 2020-05-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Don't read negative reviews Got 3 for my wife for mother's day and I couldn't be more impressed. As long as you follow the directions they are perfect. I have twin 17 month year olds and was able to make perfect casts following the directions. Use warmer water as it's easier for youngs to bear, room temp is too cold. Use a wisk to mix both the gel and plaster and you will be extremely satisfied. I'm very impressed for $10!! Use a Dremel to smooth finish and viola....good product.
Date published: 2020-05-10
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Awesome product.. used play doh instead of gel Super cute gift.. the gel needs a lot of work! We tried 3 times with my toddler and it just didn’t work. The gel is super liquidy one second and the next it’s already hardened. It’s not very kid friendly as kids want to dig into the gel. After 3 tries, I used play doh as the mold and it worked perfectly! Used wipes to clean up the mess.
Date published: 2020-05-10
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Terrible no instructions and very unclear Do not buy this junk. No instructions and ruined it trying to figure it out. Tempted to try again but not going to waste my money.
Date published: 2020-05-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy activity for pandemic shelter in place It took me a while to figure out the instructions were on the box, but after that it was pretty smooth sailing. One step the instructions should include is to put petrolum jelly on your little one’s hand before putting hand into the mold. We also used two adults: One for prepping our little one and one to do the mixing part. Ours is still drying. We cannot wait until it dries for our little one to paint it.
Date published: 2020-03-28
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Plaster molding kit Good product, however, the instructions on the box were incomplete, there is a time limit once you mix the gel as it hardens fast. this information was missing and we missed the window to make the mold that we wanted
Date published: 2020-02-27
Rated 1 out of 5 by from The gel sucks I bought this yesterday I’m taking it back today I worked quickly when I mix the gel I poured it in and let my daughter put her hand in with assistance the gel is really lumpy and cracks it looks terrible I followed the instructions exactly and the gel just came out horrible we didn’t even get to the plaster part there’s no point I wish I could Post a picture I can’t even see her fingerprints or anything it just looks like a lumpy cracking handprint i’m so glad I just bought one and not one for my son ...im taking it back and I’m gonna look online and buy a different Gel and everything separate And do it myself this kit sucks.
Date published: 2020-02-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Timeless Keepsake Made impressions of both of my little girls hands and gave them to my wife for Mother's Day from her daughter's. Incredible detail and very life like 3-D hands. Way better than pushing your hand into a pile of clay for a hand print which they did back in the old days.
Date published: 2020-01-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best keepsake for self and gifting READ the instructions on the back of the box!! Set everything up on a low table ( I used the coffee table covered in plastic. It’s the gel that’s most important. The plaster can wait. I had my 2 yr old great granddaughter practice suspending her hand in the mold with a little water in it. She got the idea of staying in the liquid without touching bottom and I held her wrist. I made one with her mom, my granddaughter when she was 4 and I wanted some of our newest family as Father’s Day gifts and a gift for her mom on an upcoming birthday. Use a whisk to stir that gel quicker. Don’t worry about any sticking as it’s easy to peel off later. For me, it’s a two to three day project. First, gel and hand time after practicing and making it fun. Hopefully you’ll manage to hold little hand still for at least a full minute. It’s ok if the fingertips touch the bottom lightly. It makes a slightly flattened fingertip but who cares if you’ve got your child’s whole hand! I make and pour the plaster later. Smooth what I can, and wait about 30 minutes to place the hanger provided. Then walk away. Take it out of the mold later! Let it really set for several hours. Once you take it out, set it on a wire rack. I used an oven rack I took out. Let it dry for at least a day. I don’t recommend this for parents that are easily frustrated or don’t follow the instructions. $10 for a lifetime keepsake!
Date published: 2019-07-09
Rated 1 out of 5 by from This is the WORST -- Do Not Buy This is an idiotic product. There is no way a child will put their hand halfway down on the wet molding gel (just enough not to touch the bottom and deep enough to give an impression) and keep it there for 1.5 minutes without moving!!! A thoughtless design. Of the high-star reviews I've read that are not fake on this product, the use was making memorial imprints of dead pets. So do yourself a favor and don't buy this. Michael's: You CAN do better. Only support products that are not idiotic in their very design.
Date published: 2019-05-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from It came out perfect ! I read all the reviews and I was scared to use it so I told my husband to help me out. You have to be real fast as soon as you pour you have to set the hand or foot I used my baby’s feet. 2 people is key the molding gel sets in seconds from when you pour so as soon as you poor you have to set the hands or feet. and the Instructions are on the back of the box when the warning label that’s where they are located. make sure you follow the times of stirring and holding your child’s hands or feet.
Date published: 2019-05-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Worked amazing!! Definitely read the instructions first to make sure you know exactly what to do. Main thing is to make sure you don't press down too far in the molding gel. We used this for a client at my vet clinic for a family whose dog passed away. It turned out absolutely amazing.I am going to pick up some kits to do hand prints of my kids when I get off work.
Date published: 2019-05-08
Rated 1 out of 5 by from 5 star ratings are totally fake - Horrible. TOTAL PINTEREST FAIL - At least, that is what I think of when I look at our sad, sad excuse for what the box looks like. WALK AWAY FROM THIS PRODUCT. I bought one for my 4 year old when he was two, and decided (wisely) to wait until he was old enough / coordinated enough to hold still for 90-120 seconds. SO, deciding that now that he is 4, we gave it a whirl for a mothers day gift. WHAT A DISAPPOINTMENT. I left the gel somewhat lumpy, because the instructions said it would be OK, and because I didn't want to wait too long and have the gel set before my kid's hand was it. Working super fast, I poured the lumpy batter into the heart mold. Perhaps i should have mixed it better, because the soupy mix took way longer than 2 minutes to set. That is an eternity for anyone, let alone a 4 year old. Also, good luck having a kid NOT touch the bottom. So you want us to have the kid perfectly suspend his hand so as not to touch the bottom, but also in perfect suspended animation in the middle of a soupy mess until it sets. Guess what happens when your kid starts to feel it set. They move around. Keep in mind that whatever you see in the gel (lumps and all) will be visible in the plaster. Ours looks like the measles. The gel overflowed the first stage of the heart and ended up lumping upward between my kid's squirmy hand. Again, this is a negative relief, so all peaks and valleys will be visible in the plaster. (Which I dont see the point in even using, by the way, this thing is horribly mis-shaped, and totally un-smooth. We finally pulled his hand out, and the gel that was between his fingers tore. I seriously see no point in pouting the plaster in, other than to get a good laugh as a gag gift for my wife on Mothers day. She actually might think its cute, in a motherly way.
Date published: 2019-05-05
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Very disappointed We followed all directions, the plaster never hardened. After holding my grandsons hand in the wet mess for 15 minutes, we gave up and threw it all away.
Date published: 2019-04-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Worked Perfectly! I work in a veterinary office and many clients will ask for a paw or nose impression of their beloved pets who have passed over the rainbow bridge. I have tried several plaster/clay/ink kits and none of them turned out how the perfectionist in me wanted. ... until a client brought this kit in and asked that we try to get a paw impression of his best friends paw who had just passed. I told him that I cannot promise anything because we have had little success in the past and he said it was ok, he appreciated us trying. We were able to make a perfect mold including a little dirt that was still stuck between his pads. I was VERY impressed and I’m heading to my local Michael’s to pick up more tomorrow!
Date published: 2019-02-20
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great!! It came out great but my 6 month old couldnt stay still to do her print in the gel. So i made my own clay and placed it where the gel went and did both hands. It was easier so you can redo the clay if the print isnt good. The only thing is after removing from plastic heart you will have to let the clay sit for one day on the plaster before removing so it will be easier to remove. Its the same thing as gel but SO much easiet because you dont have to hold their hand there. Just press her hand in and its done. And if messed up just refix the clay and do it again the pour plaster over it.. You can use any clay but if you dont have any you can make your own.. You just need 1 cup flour 1/2 cup salt and 1/2 cup water and mix. Use more flour if clay is sticking then place in the center of tray and do the prints as if you were using the gel. So much better
Date published: 2019-02-19
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Terrible I tried two kits and both of them did not work. The molding gel was lumpy and didn’t set correctly.
Date published: 2019-01-14
Rated 3 out of 5 by from More details would have been nice Didn't know at the time of purchase that it would require my child to hold his hand still for 1 minute and thirty seconds to 2 minutes. Intended to give as Christmas gifts but that wouldn't work for our 9 month old. We will keep for when he is older and able to hold still.
Date published: 2019-01-01
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Mold set too quickly Instructions say to stir the mold powder with water, then have child put hand in for 1.5-2 mins, but the mold already started to solidify by 1 minute before I could ge the hand print. It was still lumpy, inellastic and wasted.
Date published: 2018-12-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best out there Easy to use. Read directions first. Impressive results. I used one kit with a 5-year-old grandson and a second with a barely 2-year-old granddaughter. This works best if you have two adults to help keep the child still.
Date published: 2018-12-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it!! I got this same kit at Michael’s when my son was just three years old. he is now 24. I still have the mold of his precious little hand and I treasure it!! I am now buying another kit to use for his big hand if it will fit? I’m not sure what some of you were talking about with it being difficult? If you can’t keep a child’s hand still for two minutes then you should get the regular kind of handprint that just sinks in to the mold and doesn’t make a three-dimensional handprint.
Date published: 2018-11-18
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Hahaha, don't buy this kit If you’re looking for a craft to do with your child, which will end up really disturbing and creepy, and reminiscent of the ruins of Pompeii, then look no further! However, if you are attempting to capture your precious child’s handprint as a keepsake, move along and find a superior craft. Nowhere on the outside of this box did it say that the child will need to hold her hand still for 1.5 - 2 MINUTES, but those were the tiny printed instructions inside, and that is what we tried to do. Even an adult would be hard pressed to hold their hand completely still that long. If I had known the extent of the instructions, I wouldn’t have purchased this item. It also took the plaster about 5 days to dry, in humid weather, and the end result was laughable. The gel mold broke off some of the plaster fingers when I gingerly peeled it off. Too bad I can't upload the photo I took of our pièce de résistance.
Date published: 2018-07-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product I loved this molding kit I used with my daughter she loved it
Date published: 2018-06-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from super fun!! the directions were a little confusing but overall it was super fun to do with my boyfriend
Date published: 2018-06-02
  • y_2021, m_1, d_19, h_22
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.12
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_61
  • loc_en_CA, sid_10196062, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_michaels