Caron® Big Cakes™ Yarn

$11.99

Product Actions

Add to cart options
  • -
  • +

Caron® Big Cakes™ Yarn

Item # M10527477 
$11.99

Caron® Big Cakes™ Yarn

$11.99

Details

Product Actions

Add to cart options
  • -
  • +

Description


Caron Big Cakes is a new take on a fan-favorite – Caron Cakes! This new acrylic yarn comes in a bigger ball, with easier care! Ideal for blankets and other home décor projects, try out this wool-free striping yarn.
 
Weight: Medium (4)
 
Contents: 100% Acrylic
Skein Weight: 10.5 oz. / 300 g
Yardage: 603 yd. / 551 m
 
Knitting Gauge:
17 stitches and 23 rows in 4”
Crochet Gauge:
13 sc and 14 rows in 4”
 
Suggested Knitting Needle:
US 8 (5mm)
Suggested Crochet Hook:
US H-8 (5mm) 
Caron Big Cakes is a new take on a fan-favorite – Caron Cakes! This new acrylic yarn comes in a bigger ball, with easier care! Ideal for blankets and other home décor projects, try out this wool-free striping yarn.
 
Weight: Medium (4)
 
Contents: 100% Acrylic
Skein Weight: 10.5 oz. / 300 g
Yardage: 603 yd. / 551 m
 
Knitting Gauge:
17 stitches and 23 rows in 4”
Crochet Gauge:
13 sc and 14 rows in 4”
 
Suggested Knitting Needle:
US 8 (5mm)
Suggested Crochet Hook:
US H-8 (5mm) 

Use & Care


Machine wash and dry 
Machine wash and dry 
jump
Caron Big Cakes is a new take on a fan-favorite – Caron Cakes! This new acrylic yarn comes in a bigger ball, with easier care! Ideal for blankets and other home décor projects, try out this wool-free striping yarn.
 
Weight: Medium (4)
 
Contents: 100% Acrylic
Skein Weight: 10.5 oz. / 300 g
Yardage: 603 yd. / 551 m
 
Knitting Gauge:
17 stitches and 23 rows in 4”
Crochet Gauge:
13 sc and 14 rows in 4”
 
Suggested Knitting Needle:
US 8 (5mm)
Suggested Crochet Hook:
US H-8 (5mm) 
Caron Big Cakes is a new take on a fan-favorite – Caron Cakes! This new acrylic yarn comes in a bigger ball, with easier care! Ideal for blankets and other home décor projects, try out this wool-free striping yarn.
 
Weight: Medium (4)
 
Contents: 100% Acrylic
Skein Weight: 10.5 oz. / 300 g
Yardage: 603 yd. / 551 m
 
Knitting Gauge:
17 stitches and 23 rows in 4”
Crochet Gauge:
13 sc and 14 rows in 4”
 
Suggested Knitting Needle:
US 8 (5mm)
Suggested Crochet Hook:
US H-8 (5mm) 
jump
Machine wash and dry 
Machine wash and dry 
Shipping & Returns
jump

Shipping & Returns

Shipping

Most products may be shipped via standard ground (delivered in 3-7 business days) or Expedited (1 business day). Orders placed by 11:00 AM Central Time using the Expedited option will ship the same day. View Full Shipping Policy and Pricing ›

Returns

If your Michaels purchase does not meet your satisfaction, you may return it within six months (180 days) of purchase. To return an item, the item must be new, unused and in its original packaging. You may return the item to a Michaels store or by mail. View Full Return Policy ›

From the Manufacturer

You May Also Like

jump Customer Reviews
Caron® Big Cakes™ Yarn is rated 4.6 out of 5 by 636.
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Color bleed throughout I bought three of the Afternoon Tea to make a blanket but discovered that 16 yards of the first color, Ivory, was covered in gray splotches. I got two rows of the blanket done and discovered the rest was unusable. I'm not taking about a little bleeding that can be cut out. The gray was throughout all of the other colors for all three skeins. It was really disappointing as I wanted those colors for that baby blanket. I ended up having to buy the colors separately. I really love Caron yarn. I was so disappointed to discover how poor the quality was in those. I'm hoping other ones don't have the same issue as I'd like to try using the big cakes for future projects. I reached out to Caron about it with pictures and, of course, heard nothing back. I'm hoping it was a temporary problem and that they have fixed it. The colors really are beautiful, when not covered in splotches.
Date published: 2019-07-06
Rated 4 out of 5 by from On-brand for Caron As other reviews have said, there is some dye splash-over onto other colors (e.g. grey splotches in tan sections), but otherwise, I'd say this is pretty similar to other Caron yarns. It feels the same as One Pound, so if you want yardage over color variegation, go for that; it'll be cheaper in the long run. Overall, I'm pretty satisfied with my result. Of course, it's a cheaper yarn in general, so it feels a bit acrylic-y, but it's still soft enough for my standards.
Date published: 2019-07-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Happy with this yarn I’m not an expert crocheter by any means and primarily make charity blankets. This yarn is working up beautifully and I really like the striping result.
Date published: 2019-06-13
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice yarn but be careful I bought one Caron Big Cake in Summer Berry Tart and had absolutely no problems crocheting a large one piece granny square blanket. I decided to make my blanket bigger, so back to Michael's I went for another Big Cake, same color. What a difference. Throughout the cake, it looked like dye was splashed on the yarn, most noticably on the light colors, as if dye dripped onto the yarn somehow. There were a few spots where I actually cut out the splotches, and had to tie the yarn back together before continuing to crochet. The entire cake had messy sections, some more noticable than others. The first cake was perfect, the second was far from it. Unlike other reviewers, I didn't have problems with knots other than the ones I created myself. So, be careful when you buy yarn that has light sections, especially when the cake also has dark sections. There may be splash marks that spoil the look.
Date published: 2019-05-20
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Worst yarn ever! Bought 8 Caron Cakes for twin baby blankets. This yarn is full of knots that have to be cut out and retied. I actually cut out 3' of yarn and didn't use because of so many knots. Very disappointed. I wouldn't recommend and I won't buy again.
Date published: 2019-05-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it!!! I made a blanket for my daughter for Christmas and she loves how soft it is. She has washed it numerous times and it has held up well. I also made a cocoon blanket sweater for my grandson’s girlfriend and she loved it!
Date published: 2019-04-05
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Received a Used & Returned Skein The skein I received had very clearly been used and returned, it was in a giant tangled knot and had no label with it. It even shipped to me with the "Return Center" address on the label. I don't know why anyone would think its acceptable to mail something like that to a customer.
Date published: 2019-02-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Grate yarn I love love it! I love to crochet with this yarn it’s so manageable and soft no Matt what you crochet with it everyone loves it!
Date published: 2019-02-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful Colors! These colors are so beautiful. I love the color change/transition. A great yarn for a blanket.
Date published: 2019-02-07
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great weight & colors This yarn has such a nice feel for crocheting. The colors are lovely too.
Date published: 2019-02-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Caron cakes I love this yarn! It’s soft, strong, and I always find the perfect colors.
Date published: 2019-02-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love Self striping cake= no color change.... No stopping for color change !! Especially beautiful in simple patterns....and perfect for beginner crochet. Scrumptious colors...
Date published: 2019-02-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Yarn Love Caron cake yarn. Wish I could get so baby cake yarn
Date published: 2019-02-02
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Quality control/consistency is lacking I needed two of these Caron Big Cakes for a project and I chose Cherry Compote. Colors are gorgeous and the first cake was a dream. The yarn worked up well and the gradual move into another color is perfect. Soft. Very nice. I finished the first cake and moved to the second. WHAT A DIFFERENCE! Lots of big knots joining the yarn and the weight of the yarn actually changed. There were several places where this #4 yarn was a thinner #3 or even #2! Geez, oh, pete ... where is the consistency? Quality control? Sure was missing in the second cake. Now that I've been burned, I'm very hesitant to try another project with this yarn. Pretty sad ... the colors are just gorgeous. I'm giving this review 2 stars because the first cake was great. But since I can't count on Caron Big Cakes, I don't think I'll be trying it again.
Date published: 2019-01-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Favorite cake! Wish they were even bigger cakes available, everytime i go back for a refill i get so lost in Michael’s store thinking about other projects i want (but should not) start on
Date published: 2019-01-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great yarn! This yarn is easy to work with and the coloring results in really neat striping within the project.
Date published: 2019-01-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing yarn I love this yarn and it's all I use now. This yarn has spoiled me
Date published: 2019-01-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love the color This yarn is perfectly colored and makes outstanding items
Date published: 2019-01-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This product has great colors Makes great throws .Have made many in different colors.
Date published: 2019-01-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love the colors! Great vibrant colors and very soft. Love this yarn for a baby blanket for my new grand baby.
Date published: 2019-01-21
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Cakes has become so thin but still great colors I love the color changes in cakes yarn but they become more and more thin. Big cakes is VERY thin. I wish Chunky Cakes carried even similar colors. No such luck or even close colors. Also my orders get canceled constantly a month later and then the yarn is out of stock and I am stuck!
Date published: 2019-01-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect blanket yarn! I'm crocheting a queen-sized blanket with this and it's by far my favorite blanket yarn. Not too heavy, but thick enough and nice quality. Colors pool nicely and complement each other very well. I'm constantly re-purchasing this cake!
Date published: 2019-01-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Caron Big Cakes Wonderful color. Great value! Ordering casa more colors.
Date published: 2019-01-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Caron Big Cakes Crochet baby sweaters with this yarn, came out soft and beautiful.
Date published: 2019-01-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this yarn This is my first time working with this yarn. I absolutely love it!
Date published: 2019-01-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love the variety of Colors I looove this product, the yardage great for larger projects, the texture is really good (especially after a wash in shampoo and condioner, butter soft!!) And lots of good colors!
Date published: 2018-12-30
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Knots knots knots So so disappointed. I had used the chunky cakes that are full of knots. Like they were pieces together and irregular diameter of the yarn itself. These cakes have been literally pieces together at color changes! Really?
Date published: 2018-12-29
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Love the colors..not the knots Love the effects of this yarn and the colors. Not so happy that one of my "cakes" had no less than 5 spots where the yarn was knotted "tied" together. Apparently the yarn broke while packaging and they just tied knots in it and kept winding..
Date published: 2018-12-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from These yarns are beautiful. Plenty of yardage for m Finished projects are beautiful Bev will make again. Very happy overall.all the caked hold this standard 8
Date published: 2018-12-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Caron Big Cakes What can I saw ... I Love Caron Big Cakes! The color changes in the cakes are just the perfect length for me!
Date published: 2018-12-26
  • y_2020, m_2, d_16, h_15
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.5
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_636
  • loc_en_CA, sid_M10527477, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_michaels