Canson® XL® Watercolour Pad

$16.99

Product Actions

Add to cart options
  • -
  • +

Canson® XL® Watercolour Pad

Item # M10145805 
$16.99

Promotions


Buy One Get One 50% Off - Add Two items to qualify See Details
Strathmore® and Canson® Artist Paper Pads Buy one item at regular price & get the second of equal or lesser value 50% oFF. Excludes clearance.

Canson® XL® Watercolour Pad

$16.99

Promotions


Buy One Get One 50% Off - Add Two items to qualify See Details
Strathmore® and Canson® Artist Paper Pads Buy one item at regular price & get the second of equal or lesser value 50% oFF. Excludes clearance.

Details

Variations

Product Actions

Add to cart options
  • -
  • +

Description


The Canson XL Series watercolour pad features heavyweight sheets that are ideal for beginning and intermediate watercolour artists. The durable cold press surface stands up to repeated washes and is suitable for a variety of wet and dry techniques in watercolour, gouache and acrylic painting.
 
Details:
  • Available in multiple sizes
  • 140lb/300gsm
  • 30 sheets
  • Cold press
  • Acid free 
The Canson XL Series watercolour pad features heavyweight sheets that are ideal for beginning and intermediate watercolour artists. The durable cold press surface stands up to repeated washes and is suitable for a variety of wet and dry techniques in watercolour, gouache and acrylic painting.
 
Details:
  • Available in multiple sizes
  • 140lb/300gsm
  • 30 sheets
  • Cold press
  • Acid free 
jump
The Canson XL Series watercolour pad features heavyweight sheets that are ideal for beginning and intermediate watercolour artists. The durable cold press surface stands up to repeated washes and is suitable for a variety of wet and dry techniques in watercolour, gouache and acrylic painting.
 
Details:
  • Available in multiple sizes
  • 140lb/300gsm
  • 30 sheets
  • Cold press
  • Acid free 
The Canson XL Series watercolour pad features heavyweight sheets that are ideal for beginning and intermediate watercolour artists. The durable cold press surface stands up to repeated washes and is suitable for a variety of wet and dry techniques in watercolour, gouache and acrylic painting.
 
Details:
  • Available in multiple sizes
  • 140lb/300gsm
  • 30 sheets
  • Cold press
  • Acid free 
Shipping & Returns
jump

Shipping & Returns

Shipping

Most products may be shipped via standard ground (delivered in 3-5 business days) or Expedited (1 business day). Orders placed by 11:00 AM Central Time using the Expedited option will ship the same day. View Full Shipping Policy and Pricing ›

Returns

If your Michaels purchase does not meet your satisfaction, you may return it within two months (60 days) of purchase. To return an item, the item must be new, unused and in its original packaging. You may return the item to a Michaels store or by mail. View Full Return Policy ›

From the Manufacturer

You May Also Like

jump Customer Reviews
Canson® XL® Watercolour Pad is rated 4.4 out of 5 by 213.
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Water color paper I like it.. it works well with water color, gauche , acrylic and prisma color pencils.... but it does tear very easily
Date published: 2019-09-27
Rated 1 out of 5 by from This has to be the worst paper on the market This paper is useless for watercolors. It cannot take washes no matter what you do. It buckles and warps. Don't even try to glaze or apply multiple washes. It's not even suitable for practice or beginners. I tried giving it to my preschooler for crafts and it couldn't even stand up to her student grade water colors. I wish I could get my money back. Don't buy this paper.
Date published: 2019-09-26
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Depends on what Type of Artist You Are I have had decent results using this alongside tutorials that don't go beyond maybe 3 layers of watercolor. Wet in wet it warps a bit even at 140 lb. When I do my own personal work where I am doing more complicated mixing and layering the paper pills EVERY TIME. It is hard to lift and if you mess up it is not very forgiving. So I would reccomend if you are trying to learn basic techniques but move on once your skills get to the point you want to do more complicated blending or wet in wet techniques. Illustrators that use maybe one or two light layers of watercolor seem to think it is fine but I do more "traditional" landscapes and find it pretty frustrating.
Date published: 2019-08-27
Rated 4 out of 5 by from A Useful Paper for Beginning Watercolor The price of paper can be an obstacle -especially during the learning stages while the ravenous, growing painter is encountering how much experimentation lies ahead. You NEED watercolor paper to work this medium. If you attempt it on an inadequate surface it is extremely likely that you will become discouraged. This paper is right on that line where affordability and quality start to intersect -right where the serious student thrives. As you improve enough to require the benefits offered by higher-grades of paper, congratulations. Move on and don’t worry about looking back. There are some truly magnificent papers waiting for you. Until then, use the @#&*% out of this paper and in doing so, build that first relationship with a surface -the starting point from which you will measure not just other papers but the properties of pigments and binders in general. This stuff is 100% cotton, acid free (incase you accidentally create a masterwork that requires archiving) and is sized adequately enough to survive some experimentation without too much brutality. It’s made by a reputable, old-world manufacturer and if you’re nice to it it will be nice to you. Good luck.
Date published: 2019-03-16
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Waste of money Even at BOGO waste of money. Cannot perform basic watercolor functions well.
Date published: 2019-03-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Paper This is a great paper for practicing with acrylic paints.
Date published: 2019-02-05
Rated 1 out of 5 by from This product falls apart Literally had a painting rip up because of the poor paper quality. Do not buy.
Date published: 2019-01-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great paper for the value! This paper is especially good for drawing human portraits. The texture of the paper add steps to skin tone. The thickness of the paper also makes it more forgiving for erasing.
Date published: 2019-01-23
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good Product Good Price Canson produces good quality art paper for the price. I use it for myself when painting watercolor cards at Christmas. Mostly I use in my art classes, because it is affordable and works well. It is not the highest quality of watercolor paper on the market, but for students, practicing, and simple painting it is great.
Date published: 2019-01-22
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Really bad fecal paper It’s just really cheap bad paper. If you layer tape over it to get clean lines, the paper peaks off with it and makes life 1000 times harder.
Date published: 2018-12-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good weight watercolor paper. Purchased the watercolor paper for a holiday gift.
Date published: 2018-12-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Just what I needed I was looking for thick paper. I admit I didn't use it for its intended purpose, but it was perfect for my project. The price was right; I will get this again.
Date published: 2018-12-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very absorbent I use this paper when drying flowers from my garden. I make dried flower framed art for my kiddos! Houston is so humid that it’s very hard to dry flowers without mildewing but this paper does the trick!
Date published: 2018-12-02
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Watercolor paper with acrylic paint I was looking for the watercolor paper that was on a YouTube video where they painted acrylic paints on the watercolor paper. Hurst did not buckle or warp when dried. So I painted on this paper with acrylics and it warped all over. I was disappointed and watched YouTube again and found that the paper had to be 400 grams or more in weight. So it was my mistake in buying this one that's 300 grams. I would think this paper is great for watercolor paints.
Date published: 2018-11-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Canson 140 lb. watercolor paper I was pleased by the way the paper stays flat or nearly flat when I take the tape up, after drying. I am new to using acrylics on this nice heavy paper.
Date published: 2018-11-13
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great watercolor pad It is versatile, convenient and easy to move on to the next painting without removing previous painting.
Date published: 2018-10-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great watercolor paper I've tried other watercolor paper but this one is a nice size & it doesn't get dents & lumps from the water, even when both sides of the paper are painted on. Nice & sturdy.
Date published: 2018-09-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Happy to find XL 140# Watercolor paper in Spiral Been looking for a quality 140# watercolor paper in a spiral structure for a long time...and it is made by one of the leading watercolor paper companies. Each sheet can become a 5x7 painting ready to mat, bag, and show or sell.
Date published: 2018-09-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from XL-ent I haven’t made use of this pad yet, but plan on using it heavily for my next project. The overall weight and thickness of the paper is what swayed me to get it. Thanks Canson!!
Date published: 2018-09-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent quality at an affordable price! This paper is great! Heavyweight, quality watercolor paper at an affordable cost. Always my go to!
Date published: 2018-08-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome for the price! The paper is thick, there's quite a few pieces of paper, and the price is fair for what you're getting. Painting on it has worked great every time I've used it.
Date published: 2018-08-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this paper I am new to the watercolor world but I bought some cheaper paper at first and then moved to Canson. The Canson was sooooo much better at being able to tolerate the washes and the layering of color. Glad I didn’t try to keep painting with that other paper - not sure I would have stuck with it.
Date published: 2018-08-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I love this paper I am new to water color painting but I found this paper to great and at a good price.
Date published: 2018-08-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great value This was a great value during a buy one get one. I initially thought the paper might not be good quality since it was the least expensive of their choices, but it held up to my beginner watercoloring great. It didn’t pill or tear with numerous coats of paint or water.
Date published: 2018-08-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fab quality paper. My favorite watercolor paper. The best to use for quality work.
Date published: 2018-08-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great watercolor paper As a beginner watercolor artist, this paper has been great! It takes water beautifully. I have much to learn and I feel with this paper, my journey is off to a great start !
Date published: 2018-08-06
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Mediocre Paper It buckles very easily and water pools up. Easy to overwork and it just shreds. My cat gets hair in my landscapes and there is no way to get the hair off without ruining the paper. Wet on wet doesn't work at all. I got it on sale and it was inexpensive, so it gets two stars because the price was okay.
Date published: 2018-08-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice paper Great for a beginner just learning to use watercolors.
Date published: 2018-08-04
Rated 1 out of 5 by from NOT WORTH THE MONEY Great for making spit balls , does not hold up , it is cheap paper .
Date published: 2018-08-03
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice paper Not the most expensive paper. Good for practice and new ideas.
Date published: 2018-07-31
  • y_2021, m_7, d_26, h_19
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.18
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_2, tr_211
  • loc_en_CA, sid_M10145805, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_michaels