Bernat® Velvet™ Yarn

Save $3.00
$8.99
$11.99

Product Actions

Add to cart options

Bernat® Velvet™ Yarn

Item # M20001333 
Save $3.00
$8.99
$11.99

Bernat® Velvet™ Yarn

Save $3.00
$8.99
$11.99

Details

Variations

Product Actions

Add to cart options

Description


Bernat Velvet is an eye-catching yarn that works up into lush, velvety knit and crochet projects. Featuring a beautiful shine and classic shade range, Velvet is a soft choice for blanket and pillow projects for your home. Be sure to hand wash Velvet to keep it looking like new.

Weight: Bulky (5)

Contents: 100% polyester
Skein Weight: 10.5 oz / 300 g
Yardage: 315 yd / 288 m

Knitting Gauge:
12 sts - 17 rows = 4" (10 cm)
Crochet Gauge:
10 sc - 11 rows = 4" (10 cm)

Suggested Knitting Needle:
6.5 mm, US - 10.5
Suggested Crochet Hook:
6.5 mm, US - K/10.5
Bernat Velvet is an eye-catching yarn that works up into lush, velvety knit and crochet projects. Featuring a beautiful shine and classic shade range, Velvet is a soft choice for blanket and pillow projects for your home. Be sure to hand wash Velvet to keep it looking like new.

Weight: Bulky (5)

Contents: 100% polyester
Skein Weight: 10.5 oz / 300 g
Yardage: 315 yd / 288 m

Knitting Gauge:
12 sts - 17 rows = 4" (10 cm)
Crochet Gauge:
10 sc - 11 rows = 4" (10 cm)

Suggested Knitting Needle:
6.5 mm, US - 10.5
Suggested Crochet Hook:
6.5 mm, US - K/10.5

Use & Care


Do not bleach. Do not dry clean. Do not iron. Hand wash. Lay flat to dry.
Do not bleach. Do not dry clean. Do not iron. Hand wash. Lay flat to dry.
jump
Bernat Velvet is an eye-catching yarn that works up into lush, velvety knit and crochet projects. Featuring a beautiful shine and classic shade range, Velvet is a soft choice for blanket and pillow projects for your home. Be sure to hand wash Velvet to keep it looking like new.

Weight: Bulky (5)

Contents: 100% polyester
Skein Weight: 10.5 oz / 300 g
Yardage: 315 yd / 288 m

Knitting Gauge:
12 sts - 17 rows = 4" (10 cm)
Crochet Gauge:
10 sc - 11 rows = 4" (10 cm)

Suggested Knitting Needle:
6.5 mm, US - 10.5
Suggested Crochet Hook:
6.5 mm, US - K/10.5
Bernat Velvet is an eye-catching yarn that works up into lush, velvety knit and crochet projects. Featuring a beautiful shine and classic shade range, Velvet is a soft choice for blanket and pillow projects for your home. Be sure to hand wash Velvet to keep it looking like new.

Weight: Bulky (5)

Contents: 100% polyester
Skein Weight: 10.5 oz / 300 g
Yardage: 315 yd / 288 m

Knitting Gauge:
12 sts - 17 rows = 4" (10 cm)
Crochet Gauge:
10 sc - 11 rows = 4" (10 cm)

Suggested Knitting Needle:
6.5 mm, US - 10.5
Suggested Crochet Hook:
6.5 mm, US - K/10.5
jump
Do not bleach. Do not dry clean. Do not iron. Hand wash. Lay flat to dry.
Do not bleach. Do not dry clean. Do not iron. Hand wash. Lay flat to dry.
Shipping & Returns
jump

Shipping & Returns

Shipping

Most products may be shipped via standard ground (delivered in 3-5 business days) or Expedited (1 business day). Orders placed by 11:00 AM Central Time using the Expedited option will ship the same day. View Full Shipping Policy and Pricing ›

Returns

If your Michaels purchase does not meet your satisfaction, you may return it within two months (60 days) of purchase. To return an item, the item must be new, unused and in its original packaging. You may return the item to a Michaels store or by mail. View Full Return Policy ›

From the Manufacturer

You May Also Like

jump Customer Reviews
Bernat® Velvet™ Yarn is rated 3.3 out of 5 by 36.
Rated 2 out of 5 by from It's ok... It worked fine for Crochet (I'm not sure if it's the best im not that experienced with crochet) but it is absolutely awful for knitting. It consently slides off the needles and fluff gets everywhere while using it. Making it to easy to pull off all the fluff on the string.
Date published: 2021-02-21
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Worst Yarn I’ve Ever Used I tried to create a hat on a loom 3 times with this yarn only for it to worm. It wormed and wormed and absolutely destroyed itself eventually as the “velvet” came off and became string. I will be coming back to Michael’s to get a refund. I am now extremely speculative of Bernat as a brand, will probably never buy from them again. Absolutely frustrating, defeating, waste of time. Also breaks extremely easy, one knot can ruin it all.
Date published: 2021-02-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing! I love this yarn! If you are looking for a soft, luxurious yarn that offers a lot of vibrant colors, then you should definitely try Bernat velvet (their crushed velvet and baby velvet is great too). I have not experienced any of the issues that some of the other reviewers have mentioned except for a few minor tangles (which simply take a little patience and some untangling). I have crocheted one blanket with this and am working on a second blanket. I crochet very tightly, always use a smaller hook than recommended (for this I used a 4.0 mm hook), and prefer single crocheting. So, I think a lot of the problems with worming, that other reviewers mentioned, could be avoided by crocheting tightly and not machine washing or drying the finished product. I don't knit, so I can't comment on the effectiveness of using this yarn for knitting. But as far as crocheting, if you can adjust your crocheting technique to fit this type of yarn, then you will get some amazingly soft and beautiful pieces of work. Hopefully Michaels can expand their color selection of Bernat velvet, crushed velvet, and baby velvet yarn.
Date published: 2021-01-29
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Not recommended for...well...anything. Bought 6 skeins with intention of knitting a blanket. How awesome would that be?!?! Nope. Icky. Yucky. Fabric worms causing loose loopy shaggy yarn lengths. Looks severely used before you are even done. Frogged it out after just mere inches. Made a cowl out of the used yarn with smaller needles. Also looks bad. Requires hand washing for artificial fibers missed my return window. Going to try to sell online. Waste of time, money and emotion.
Date published: 2021-01-27
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not Bernat’s Best This yarn feels nice when it’s made into something, but getting a good skein can be a crap shoot. Several skeins I purchased had a series of bad spots, roughly 5 feet long, where the yarn thinned down to literal threads. This was really frustrating when trying to make a baby blanket.
Date published: 2021-01-23
Rated 2 out of 5 by from subject to worming The major complaint that I have about this yarn is that most crafters use it for baby projects because it's so soft, but, most crafters don't know that you cannot machine wash this yarn. The manufacturer recommends that you dry clean this yarn. When machine washed your project will unravel and you will have major issues with worming.
Date published: 2021-01-21
Rated 2 out of 5 by from easy to work with, BUT.... easy to work with, but when trying to work in loose ends when changing colors, kept unravelling and ends would stick out loosely relatively easily. Had to hot glue ends in to stop unravelling
Date published: 2021-01-15
Rated 1 out of 5 by from What a mess! This yarn is prone to worming. Wish I had known before purchasing and starting a knitting project.
Date published: 2021-01-10
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very soft but dye comes off of dark colored ones Very soft and easy to work with but had to wear gloves to crochet with the dark colored ones because the dye gets all over your fingers. If dye comes off this easy, just wondering whats going to happen when finished product is hand washed!
Date published: 2021-01-06
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Ugh This yarn has such pretty colors but it crochets terribly. I tried going down 1-2 hook sizes, seemed to help. But my finished product is coming apart. Tried the pattern on the label but ended up frogging it. The little furs come undone when ripping out work
Date published: 2021-01-05
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Messy I am an experienced knitter and other items I knitted look neat years later. The blanket I recently made with 2 colors of this yarn looks awful. It has so many loose loops. The stray ends that I sewed in came out in the wash using the hand wash setting.That has never happened to me before. This yarn was expensive and I am never using it again. Some of the yarn had hard plastic bits I had to pull off.
Date published: 2020-12-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Soft and easy to use I absolutely love this yarn! Will definitely buy again, my only issue is that there isn’t a variety of colors. Would love if they had a nice brown color
Date published: 2020-11-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very good for a beginner in crochet! I have used 3 skeins now, and have knitted a small blanket qnd crocheted a cropped sweater! My sweater was a half double crochet with a 6 mm hook, and I was worried it would be too thick but it turned out perfect. I should've used a 3rd (only used 2 for the sweater) to make it a bit wider but overall am really happy with how it turned out! It was my first big project and it came together very well, didn't have much trouble with inconsistencies or bad quality.
Date published: 2020-10-28
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Pretty good The yarn is soft and beautiful, but, like other of reviewers have said, sometimes it has knots or has broken and has been tied back together.
Date published: 2020-10-24
Rated 3 out of 5 by from I love it...but... I love this yarn but....I've made a few baby blankets and just finished and extra large afghan. Two skeins I had for the larger blanket were either knotted everywhere or had been cut and tied oddly. And one looked like it had been brushed. What was I supposed to do with that? What happened to pride in your products? Or at the least checking it before it leaves the warehouse. Smh
Date published: 2020-08-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I love the velvet yarn So this is my second blanket in the past month and a half. I use a 4.0 crochet hook, I work in a long piece of yarn (tail) per colour change, knotting three times along the way. This is such a silky yarn I want to be sure it won’t come loose. It makes such a velvety smooth blanket. It has gotten me to do projects I wasn’t planning when I started the first baby blanket.
Date published: 2020-08-07
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Not recommended for blankets I crocheted C2C and gave it to a friend. After i had visited a week later it had become loopy and the ends that i had darned in were already out. I was so disappointed.
Date published: 2020-07-25
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Very soft....nasty brown spots I’ve been using Bernat yarns for over 5 years and I think I’m finally ready to abandon the brand. The velvet yarn is so soft and beautiful for making stuffed animals and blankets, but I have found disgusting brown spots in 7 of the last 10 skeins that I have purchased. I have no idea what the brown is, but it honestly looks like what everyone fears a brown smudge to be (I’m sure you get what I’m implying here). Every time I find a brown spot, I have to cut the yarn to remove the brown bit, tie the ends together, and continue working. This means that my projects are filled with knots and that kind of ruins the look of stuffed animals/amigurumi. When paying $10 for a skein, this should absolutely NOT be a problem. It’s disgusting and disappointing.
Date published: 2020-06-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from One of my favorites. This yarn is fabulous and so fun to work with. It snags if using the recommended hook size which is 6.5 But when used with a smaller hook, it stays in perfect shape. So I guess it depends on what project you are going for. But this yarn is perfect for me when I make bralettes, shorts, baskets and of course scrunchies...
Date published: 2020-05-18
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Great yarn... when its works I bought about 10 skeins to crochet a blanket, and when you get a good skein its great yarn to work with. However there's a lot of inconsistencies between skeins that I find rather frustrating. Some skeins have little gaps in between fibers and it causes the center string to rub, or cut into my finger as it passes over. It comes out looking okay, if a little fuzzy. I did have one skein though that didn't even look like velvet. It was sort of shiny, but it was extremely fuzzy and the pattern came out muddled for that section. I hope they fix this, because when you get a nice skein, I absolute love the yarn. I don't think this has anything to do with "batches" of yarn, because I purchased 8 of 10 of the skeins online all at once and they are all part of the same dye lot at the least. I would recommend this for baby blankets, or small plushes. I do not recommend making something as large as a twin bed sized blanket, like I'm working on. Overall: great idea, questionable execution.
Date published: 2020-03-19
Rated 3 out of 5 by from true to name / like velvet soft I have made two afghans using different patterns but both have weird loops all over and gaps/ can't figure it out and I am not a novice by any means/ have never had this problem before
Date published: 2020-03-18
Rated 3 out of 5 by from bernat velvet very soft but difficult to work with due to knots and splitting as yarn is being used.
Date published: 2020-01-02
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Product has inconsistency Just because you’re buying the same “color” doesn’t mean that the yarn is the same. Coloration and thickness of the velvet yarn will vary between lots. Personally experience has shown that lots can vary roughly 2-3 shades and 0.5-1.0 mm.
Date published: 2019-11-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this yarn So easy to work with Beautiful soft finished product
Date published: 2019-11-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from So Soft Easy to work with, using a 6mm crochet hook.. makes for a beautiful throw, ultra plush fabric.. if worried about it getting tangled, just ball it up and carry on.
Date published: 2019-10-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very soft and easy to work with I bought this yarn for crocheting toys and loved working with it. It’s soft, it doesn’t tear, no knots in it. Would recommend this yarn. I wish my local store would carry all the colors
Date published: 2019-10-19
Rated 1 out of 5 by from This product is not worth it. I made a blanket and it looked beautiful, but once I washed it, it came undone. I'm very disappointed because I spent hours working on it, and now it looks like an sad old blanket.
Date published: 2019-10-17
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Color deceiving it is light mauve NOT taupe/coffee I love this yarn, and have purchased it in several colors. It is SO soft, I even just like the feel of it as I crochet. I bought the color taupe/coffee online because my store did not carry it. The picture looked light brown/tan on my computer, as you would expect something named taupe/coffee to be, but when it arrived yesterday I discovered it was really a light mauve color (my husband called it "pink"). It is actually a lovely color, but not one that I can use to make my teen son a blanket, so it has to go back. Love the yarn, wish the color was better named/pictured.
Date published: 2019-09-26
  • y_2021, m_9, d_17, h_20
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.19
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_36
  • loc_en_CA, sid_M20001333, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_michaels