Bernat® Baby Velvet™ Yarn

Save $1.75
$5.24
$6.99

Product Actions

Add to cart options

Bernat® Baby Velvet™ Yarn

Item # 10602117 
Save $1.75
$5.24
$6.99

Bernat® Baby Velvet™ Yarn

Save $1.75
$5.24
$6.99

Details

Product Actions

Add to cart options

Description


Bernat® Baby Velvet™ is a luxuriously soft chenille yarn that feels like velvet and is machine washable and dryable. It’s perfect for stitching nursey accessories or baby blankets that your little one will love to snuggle into.

Weight:  Medium (4)
 
Content: 100% Polyester
Skein Weight: 3.5 oz. / 100 g
Yardage: 163 yd. / 149 m
 
Knitting Gauge:
16 sts – 20 rows = 4" (10 cm)
Crochet Gauge:
13 sc – 14 rows = 4" (10 cm)
 
Suggested Knitting Needle:
4.5 mm, US 7
Suggested Crochet Hook:
5 mm, US J/8

For more project inspiration, check out the Bernat Baby Stories Look Book!  Click Here (PDF)
Bernat® Baby Velvet™ is a luxuriously soft chenille yarn that feels like velvet and is machine washable and dryable. It’s perfect for stitching nursey accessories or baby blankets that your little one will love to snuggle into.

Weight:  Medium (4)
 
Content: 100% Polyester
Skein Weight: 3.5 oz. / 100 g
Yardage: 163 yd. / 149 m
 
Knitting Gauge:
16 sts – 20 rows = 4" (10 cm)
Crochet Gauge:
13 sc – 14 rows = 4" (10 cm)
 
Suggested Knitting Needle:
4.5 mm, US 7
Suggested Crochet Hook:
5 mm, US J/8

For more project inspiration, check out the Bernat Baby Stories Look Book!  Click Here (PDF)

Use & Care


Machine wash and dry, do not bleach, do not iron, do not dry clean.
Machine wash and dry, do not bleach, do not iron, do not dry clean.
jump
Bernat® Baby Velvet™ is a luxuriously soft chenille yarn that feels like velvet and is machine washable and dryable. It’s perfect for stitching nursey accessories or baby blankets that your little one will love to snuggle into.

Weight:  Medium (4)
 
Content: 100% Polyester
Skein Weight: 3.5 oz. / 100 g
Yardage: 163 yd. / 149 m
 
Knitting Gauge:
16 sts – 20 rows = 4" (10 cm)
Crochet Gauge:
13 sc – 14 rows = 4" (10 cm)
 
Suggested Knitting Needle:
4.5 mm, US 7
Suggested Crochet Hook:
5 mm, US J/8

For more project inspiration, check out the Bernat Baby Stories Look Book!  Click Here (PDF)
Bernat® Baby Velvet™ is a luxuriously soft chenille yarn that feels like velvet and is machine washable and dryable. It’s perfect for stitching nursey accessories or baby blankets that your little one will love to snuggle into.

Weight:  Medium (4)
 
Content: 100% Polyester
Skein Weight: 3.5 oz. / 100 g
Yardage: 163 yd. / 149 m
 
Knitting Gauge:
16 sts – 20 rows = 4" (10 cm)
Crochet Gauge:
13 sc – 14 rows = 4" (10 cm)
 
Suggested Knitting Needle:
4.5 mm, US 7
Suggested Crochet Hook:
5 mm, US J/8

For more project inspiration, check out the Bernat Baby Stories Look Book!  Click Here (PDF)
jump
Machine wash and dry, do not bleach, do not iron, do not dry clean.
Machine wash and dry, do not bleach, do not iron, do not dry clean.
Shipping & Returns
jump

Shipping & Returns

Shipping

Most products may be shipped via standard ground (delivered in 3-7 business days) or Expedited (1 business day). Orders placed by 11:00 AM Central Time using the Expedited option will ship the same day. View Full Shipping Policy and Pricing ›

Returns

If your Michaels purchase does not meet your satisfaction, you may return it within two months (60 days) of purchase. To return an item, the item must be new, unused and in its original packaging. You may return the item to a Michaels store or by mail. View Full Return Policy ›

From the Manufacturer

You May Also Like

jump Customer Reviews
Bernat® Baby Velvet™ Yarn is rated 3.1 out of 5 by 36.
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not washable! I crocheted a baby blanket for my new nephew using the misty green in a star stitch pattern. I spent 6 months working on the blanket a little each night. I washed it per the label directions on delicate, cold water, tumble dry low and it came out with loops pulled & snags galore. I found the material easy enough to work with. I would recommend not washing any project made with this yarn. If you do hand wash & let it air dry.
Date published: 2020-12-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Just read the reviews! I haven't actually bought the yarn, but reading the reviews i can tell why those 1 star reviews came to be. Those who knit a blanket turn out dissapointed, but those who crochet are happy withthe final product. I myself will not buy it for i am looking for kniting yarn, but if you want to crochet with this yarn, that would be a good choice.
Date published: 2020-12-01
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Worst yarn I ever used Bought this to make a baby blanket, very disappointed on how it stretches and causes large loops. I am a very tight knitter and should have stopped after the first ball. Finally I was hoping following the washing instructions would help it but really made it worse, so disappointed .
Date published: 2020-11-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from So soft and silky! I love this yarn. It makes such a luxurious, warm blanket! I only crochet and I tend to crochet with a tight tension so I've never had an issue with loops unraveling. (Daisy Farm Crafts has lots of tips and patterns for this yarn specifically.)
Date published: 2020-11-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Product I made a Baby Blanket and a Pillow with this yarn and it turned out great! I crocheted using a half double crochet stitch. I wound it onto a ball before i started and this was very helfull. No tangles or knotting! I will agree that it's hard to work with, but once you've got a handle on it, It's quit easy. I washed mine by hand because i was worried about it snagging. It turned out great washing it by hand. For the blanket, I went off of a free pattern by Daisy Farm Crafts! I will definitely be making more of these.
Date published: 2020-11-12
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Knotted Spent $60 on this and it was super knotted. Every skein I bought took 3 hours to spin into a ball, and one of them was so much so that about 40% was unusable. For this price point this is unacceptable.
Date published: 2020-11-07
Rated 4 out of 5 by from This yarn is not for beginner knitters It is very important to watch your tension. The core of the yarn is quite small, but the outer velvet makes it look chunky. If you don't keep a consistent tension, you will end up with holes in your work.
Date published: 2020-10-31
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Do not waste your time Does not work up easy. Has a weird texture and once washed, loops galore as other people have already stated. What a waste of a months time knitting baby blankets for gifts to only have to trash all pieces!
Date published: 2020-10-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wonderful yarn Im admittedly a bit of a yarn snob and most yarns found in non-yarn specific stores I can easily find an issue with. I absolutely love this yarn! I've made baby blankets, fingerless gloves and scrunchies out of it, for starters. For the issues previously reported; Yes, it can be slippery, but I mostly crochet with it, so I don't find that I have as much of an issue. In regards to washing, I never throw items made out of anything other than cotton directly into the washer. This yaens label states to handwash, and even if it didn't, I'd still place it in a garment bag and wash on delicate, then lay flat to dry. I've never had an issue when washing, as a result. And I've never noticed any kind of smell or odor from the yarn. For me, I love to use this yarn whenever I can!
Date published: 2020-10-05
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Hard to work with I've tried working on several projects with this yarn, and it is the most difficult to work with. It's slippery and none of my hooks seem to work well with it. The stitches are difficult to see and I would recommend Bernat Velvet Yarn, but not Bernat Baby Velvet.
Date published: 2020-09-23
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Good yarn overall, could be improved Such as with all handmade fabric, clothing etc it is recommended you wash by hand. So I have personally had no issues with that other than some odd pulls here and there, which could be explained by simple wear and tear as it is very delicate yarn. The overall bulk is fairly heavy, a 4-5 I believe, but the yarn itself is very easy to snap if you pull it slightly too hard, the actual yarn itself is about a 1 thickness, but looks like a 4-5. Another issue I have is that because of the texture, you cannot go back and fix a mistake otherwise the yarn might look frayed and patchy. Like I said, good yarn overall, but could see some improvements.
Date published: 2020-09-21
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Loving the feel and workabilitt I started with the idea of making a baby blanket how ever I am ending up with a throw.
Date published: 2020-08-21
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Horrible This yarn is very slippery. While working in my projects I noticed pulls all over my work. Thought I was skip stitches nope, it’s the yarn !!!
Date published: 2020-08-13
Rated 4 out of 5 by from So soft and so easy to work with By now I’ve probably crocheted well over a mile with this yarn. I LOVE how soft and snuggly it is, and the people I’ve given the blankets to really love them as well. I have to confirm the issue of the yard getting a little polls all over when run through the regular wash, that was very disappointing, so I’m recommending people wash the blankets by hand whenever possible. I also like that I can make an extremely secure knot with two ends that is very tiny, almost imperceptible, and I can trim the ends down to it very closely. Saves me from having to weave in the tails, and there are no ends to pop out when it’s washed.
Date published: 2020-08-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this yarn Great quality, feels good to crochet with it and makes for wonderful soft projects. I’m so happy it comes in more colors now!
Date published: 2020-08-11
Rated 2 out of 5 by from So soft That it is difficult to see stitches when crocheting. Label says handwash and dry flat.. but it is promoted as machine washable. I will have to test.
Date published: 2020-08-11
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Great, but has a smell I have been using it to make a sweater and it sheds but not a whole lot. It’s an easy yarn to use for knitting but if you don’t like slippery yarn, I wouldn’t recommend it. My only problem is the smell. It smells like sour milk and I hope that it comes of when I hand wash!
Date published: 2020-08-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent yarn, easy to work with. It's so very soft and very cozy. My customers love it
Date published: 2020-07-31
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Strong, Unremovable Smell of Spoiled Milk The yarn itself is soft, good quality, and works fine for crochet. I made a top, scarf, and scrunchie out of one ball I got on sale. The problem is the odour. I noticed a nasty smell and after hand washing the smell lingered on, mixing with the detergent creating a horrible spoiled milk aroma. I have never had this issue with yarn before and I won't buy again.
Date published: 2020-07-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Velvet Baby Yarn: this yarn for me was excellent! It is a very soft yarn that is nice to snuggle up with! I made a blanket which I really enjoy! some people rate this bad but I truly think it is an excellent yarn!
Date published: 2020-07-06
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Loops galore I used this to make a baby blanket. The yarn itself had a very strong unpleasant smell so I decided to was per instructions. Came out with the blanket having loops. Loops like I had. Or crochet properly. So I did a second one and the same thing happened. This yarn is garbage. I ended up using premier yarns parfait. Parfait by Premier yarns is by far a better product for if you are looking for that velvety feel. Don’t waste your money on this!
Date published: 2020-07-06
Rated 3 out of 5 by from So fluffy It is great product great for finger knitting it is awsome
Date published: 2020-04-04
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Blanket This product is awful Looks nice once project is completed but once washed it stretched out and was horrible
Date published: 2020-04-01
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Scraps smushed together in a knot I bought a single skein of rose baby velvet yarn. It was in 5 separate pieces, two of which had multiple joins in them. The whole thing was in a big twisted knot and shed bits of fluff all over as I tried to untangle it. What garbage.
Date published: 2020-01-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Something Special I recently finished a baby blanket in the lil soldier boy color. I used a really neat stitch to add to its beauty. This yarn takes a little to get used to, as it stretches and is slippery. So crotching is slower than a regular yarn. But the outcome is worth the extra time. Can't wait to give it to my new Great Nephew!
Date published: 2019-12-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Baby blanket I purchased a few colors in this type of yarn for baby blankets needed - they were absolutely perfect!
Date published: 2019-11-05
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Baby blanket perfect I washed this gentle, cold water, light dry and it was perfect, soft, cuddly, and lovely.
Date published: 2019-11-02
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Not washable This yarn comes in so many pretty colors. It feels so soft and cuddly. I bought several colors and planned to make afghans. I made the first blanket in the color blue boy in a shell stitch. It looked perfect. I planned on selling these. I wash it by the directions in a delicate wash. It was so sad. It had snag loops all over it.
Date published: 2019-10-25
  • y_2021, m_6, d_13, h_18
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.17
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_36
  • loc_en_CA, sid_M20001382, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_michaels